Prescott Results 081012

Prescott 8th October 2012

The last event for this year's 500 Owners Association Hill Climb Championship was Class 2 in The Autumn Classic meeting at Prescott, and an enjoyable event it was too. There was a good entry of 19 drivers but Patrick Riley was convalescing from a very recent operation and could not attend; we all wish you a speedy recovery Patrick and look forward to seeing you on the start line next year.

A briefing by the Stewards for all drivers on the start line at 08.45 gave warning that the course was still damp from the recent heavy rain with water leaching from the hill onto the edges of the tarmac in places. The 500cc drivers duly took note and applied some caution on the first practice runs. Yes, it was a bit slippery but all runs were driven safely and drivers were smiling when back in the paddock. Being fairly new to this sport I found that the dampness was helping me learn better car control. There did not seem to be many car problems but the engine of Dennis Williams' very nice Arnott was not running at all well; fortunately Jan and Dierdre Nycz had just arrived and Jan helped Dennis to correct the fuel feed and fuel calibration so that the engine ran well. Dennis had just missed his second practice run but the Stewards and Marshals soon fed him in with the other classes. Andrew and John Turner complained of clutch slip and soon had it dismantled; whatever they did to it was 'just' enough to get them first and second places! The weather was improving during the morning and the sun felt nicely warm, so most of our second practice runs were quicker with no great problems.

Alistair Dent, trying hard

John, focussed

The competitive runs in the afternoon were driven in dry but gradually cooling conditions and the times were impressive for the little cars with narrow tyres and only 500cc engines. Unfortunately Tracey Cameron driving Dennis Williams' Cooper came to grief at Ettore's Bend; Tracey was not hurt but there will be work to do on the car (the commentator recommended that nobody recorded what Tracey said when this happened!). Dennis accelerated the Arnott off the start line only to have the clutch cable break within 30 metres and so retired the car. On approaching the start line for the first run Marcus Black was stopped by marshals who noted some oil dripping from his car; I was held at the gate with engine running whilst the marshals attended to the oil on the road. As I was worried about my engine overheating I was just on the point of switching off when they signalled me to the line. The Stewards and marshals do not seem to appreciate the difficulties of operating an air cooled engine with no starter motor!

All drivers were trying hard to post fast times, and the results show that impressive times were achieved. Congratulations go to "Dad and the Lad" for their first and second places, and also to Mark Riley who kept them honest with a close third place.

We all enjoyed the event and we thank the Bugatti Owners Club for their excellent "Autumn Classic" event; our thanks also go to the Officials, Marshals, Medical and Rescue teams, Catering team, and all the Staff at Prescott who worked to make the event a success.

Being the end of the 2012 season, all 500 Owners Association drivers thank our Hill Climb and Sprint Secretary (The Boss) Paul Harris, and the mechanics, helpers, pushers, and supporting members who have made the season so worthwhile, successful, and enjoyable.

Pos Name Car Run 1 Run 2 Best

No Time: Tracey Cameron - Cooper Mk V, Dennis Williams - Arnott-JAP, Patrick Riley - Smith III-JAP


Photos; Mike Wood

Report by Alan Hartfield.

1 Andy Turner Cooper Mk IX-JAP 54.17 53.28 53.28
2 John Turner Cooper Mk IX-JAP 54.04 54.68 54.04
3 Mark Riley Creamer-Kieft-JAP 55.12 54.69 54.69
4 Steve Lawrence Cooper Mk VIII-JAP 55.39 57.27 55.39
5 Richard de la Roche Smith-JAP 58.22 59.41 58.22
6 John Forsythe Alfa-Dana-JAP 60.27 58.24 58.24
7 Alistair Dent Hornet-JAP 58.26 59.58 58.26
8 John Dent Cooper Mk VI-JAP 59.36 59.07 59.07
9 Alan Hartfield Cooper Mk V-JAP 60.75 59.59 59.59
10 Ted Sharpe RGR-JAP 60.00   60.00
11 Marcus Black Cooper Mk V-JAP Fail 60.84 60.84
12 Ian Patton Cooper Mk IV-JAP 62.05 61.45 61.45
13 Mike Lawrence Cooper Mk X-JAP 64.13 61.76 61.76
14 Tony Claringbould JP-JAP 67.14 64.48 64.48
15 Mike Wood Iota-JAP 67.68 83.32 67.32
16 Tim Ross Cooper Mk IV-JAP 69.61 69.81 69.61
Mike Lawrence, Cooper Mk X

John Turner, Cooper Mk IX