Mallory Park 080804

Mallory Park  John Cooper Trophy 8th August 2004

Eleven 500s make the trip to a hot and humid Mallory Park to compete for the John Cooper Memorial Trophy organised by the Morgan Sports Car Club. In practice it seemed that a Cooper win was on the cards when John Turner, in the Cooper Mk IX, set a very fast time of 58.6 from David Lecoq (Petty) and James Culver (Cooper Mk X) but John's engine went sick preventing him from capitalising on the pole position.

David Lecoq lead the race from lights to flag to embarrass the Cooper drivers and take the John Cooper Trophy. James Culver stayed in touch for the first few laps but eventually fell back and settled for second to consolidate his championship position. Bob Culver took third having battled with Geoff Gartside for several laps until Geoff's engine blew up. Further back, Shirley Monro and Bill Needham enjoyed a close race with Bill eventually prevailing.

Classified Finishers

Pos Name Car Time Laps Best                                                               
1 David Lecoq Petty Norton 15:15 15 59.93
2 James Culver Cooper Mk X Vincent 15:30 15 1:00.06
3 Bob Culver Cooper Mk VIII Vincent 15:15 14 1:02.82
4 Neil Hodges Cooper Mk VIII JAP 15:42 14 1:05.19
5 Bill Needham Cooper Mk IV JAP 16:04 14 1:06.83
6 Shirley Monro Cooper Mk IV JAP 16:08 14 1:07.86
7 Graham Murdoch FMS JAP 16:06 13 1:10.54
500 Owners Association Championship Standings